So I had a potluck to go to on Monday. Potluck days are my favorite days because other people cook a beautiful diverse meal for me and all I have to bring is some cookies! Or at least that’s the goal.

At the same time as thinking about the potluck, I was thinking about what to do with sour milk that hadn’t curdled or apparently gone bad yet, and looked up the possibility of baking with sour milk. It turns out it’s possible and even a great way to reduce food waste! Hence, I made sour milk cookies on Saturday.

In actual fact, on Sunday, the night before the potluck I baked sour milk scones and banana bread (with the help of a little wine), and had a 4 am freak-out about whether the sour milk cookies would be too sour milk for my fellow potluck-goers, and therefore brought the banana bread instead. {Just as an aside, I promise this is the first time I’ve been drunk on a Sunday night since first year. Seriously.}

Clearly this was ridiculous, as I just ate two (three) of the sour milk cookies while working on job applications, even though I think I may have accidentally used a full cup of sour milk instead of 2/3. If you want to add some chocolate frosting, I bet they would be even more incredible. I personally love them cakey and light and all by themselves (which is really saying something considering my love of frosting).

sour-milk-cookies


Sour Milk Cookies

Baking Note:

    When using sour milk, it’s important to make sure that the milk hasn’t curdled or separated. If you don’t feel quite safe using sour milk, feel free to use buttermilk or make your own sour milk, adding 1 Tbsp lemon juice or vinegar per cup of milk (so for our purposes, 2/3 Tbsp).

Ingredients:

  • 2          eggs
  • 1 1/2c  sugar
  • 1c        butter (softened)
  • 1 tsp    vanilla extract
  • 5c       flour
  • 1 tsp    baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp    nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2/3c     sour milk

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 ºF.

2. In a large bowl, beat eggs. Mix in sugar. Add in butter and beat. Mix in vanilla.

3. In a medium bowl, sift 4 cups of flour with baking soda, salt, nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon.

4. Alternate adding in flour mixture and milk, mixing well throughout. If necessary, add additional flour until the dough forms a ball instead of sticking to the sides of the bowl.

5. Scoop dough out of bowl using an ice cream scoop (or some spoons) and flatten them to about 1/4 inch thick on a floured pan.

6. Bake for 10-12 minutes until cookies puff up. Don’t be afraid to take the cookies out if they don’t look quite done- they’ll cook on the pan and they’re meant to be a bit soft

