The name of these cookies sounds a little like they should be a superhero or an ’80s rock band, but they are in fact actually just what they purport to be. I have been struggling with my energy levels for a few weeks and just realized that it is *of course* because I am anemic.

I have a history of anemia, but it never occurs to me that that is my problem. The other night, I was really sick with a flu-esque malady, and it only occurred to me that there could be more in the works when I looked over at my dusty and long-untouched iron pills.

Of course, I have started taking my pills again, but as an amateur baker and general food-lover, my first thought in case of a deficiency is “What can I bake to add more iron to my diet?”

And thus, the iron cookies were born. They have blackstrap molasses, oatmeal, raisins, and some walnuts, as well as a *secret* last minute ingredient (as with so many of the things I bake), so they are quite iron-rich. The blackstrap molasses taste pretty strong, so if you aren’t going for 25% of your daily iron in one serving and/or you aren’t super keen on that brown sugar taste, you can use a lighter molasses.

img_3233

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose or wheat flour
  • 2 1/4 cups oatmeal
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup coconut oil, soft but not melted
  • 2 eggs, beaten well
  • 5 Tbsp blackstrap molasses
  • 1/2 cup ginger syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or other nuts)
  • 1/2 cup raisins

Destructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F, set out ungreased baking sheets.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the flour, oatmeal, baking soda, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt until well combined.
  3. In a stand mixer with a paddle attachment (or using beaters), beat the sugar and coconut oil until smooth, then add in the ginger syrup, eggs, molasses, and vanilla.
  4. Gently stir in the pre-combined dry ingredients just until mixed, then fold in the nuts and raisins.
  5. Drop the cookies by the ice cream scoop-ful onto the baking sheets (don’t worry if it’s a fairly wet batter, if you prefer harder cookies, just bake them a bit more).
  6. Bake for 13-16 minutes, until no longer wet but still somewhat soft in the middle. Cool for 5-10 minutes on baking sheet, then transfer to wire rack to cool.

img_3234

Notes:

  • Adding the ginger syrup was a serendipitous move, because I had happened to have made candied ginger not that long ago, and therefore had some extra syrup in the fridge. If you are not as ginger-obsessed as me, you can leave out the ginger syrup and use 2 cups each of the flour and oatmeal instead of 2 1/4. This will taste more molasses-y, but the Madre seemed to like it all a whole lot.
  • When iron-deficient, one learns that vitamin C helps the body absorb iron, whereas calcium and tea prevent absorption. I therefore recommend that you forego the traditional glass of milk or cuppa tea with these cookies, and instead have them with orange juice or another high-vitamin C drink. It’s weird, but it will work!
