Long name? Yes. Delicious? Yes. Guess we’re all good then.

I knew I wanted to use up my leftover pumpkin from the pies and scones that I made earlier this month, but I wasn’t sure exactly what to do with it. Brownies? Bars? I decided to think about what other ingredients to combine with it.

I haven’t made anything with molasses in a few weeks, and I’ve been missing the flavor. There’s just something so comforting about the richness of the molasses. So… what to make with pumpkin and molasses? It’s a strange, mushy combination, and it still wasn’t quite what I was looking for.

Then, today when I was snacking on some trail mix, it came to me like a nutty choir of angels. There are about 4 open, but nearly empty, bags of walnuts in the pantry! Walnuts are delicious with molasses AND pumpkin, and that is the key. I looked around for recipes, but I ended up making up my own because of the odd quantities of ingredients that I have. Also because, in case you hadn’t noticed, I prefer to use less processed sugars, so I’ve been substituting like mad. Enjoy!

a-slice

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cake flour
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cups maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cups pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnuts

Destructions:

  1. Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350°F. Grease and flour a 9×5 loaf pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk dry ingredients (flours, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, nutmeg, baking soda, baking powder, and salt) until well combined.
  3. In a large bowl, beat maple syrup and molasses until well combined.
  4. Add eggs individually to the syrup mixture, beating well after each so that they are well combined.
  5. Add pumpkin puree to the syrup mixture, beating until smoothly combined.
  6. Add dry mixture to wet mixture a little at a time, stirring until just combined. Gently stir in walnuts.
  7. Pour batter into loaf pan, and smooth out  the top with a rubber spatula. Bake for 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  8. Cool the loaf in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes, then turn out and cool on the wire rack.

Notes:

  • Moist, dense, and delicious… It’s almost savory, and it’s perfect for fall!

deliciousness

